Misdemeanor Offenses Attorney McKinney & Whole Collin County TX
When you have been charged with a misdemeanor offense, it can be more than just a huge inconvenience. It can come with hefty fines, punishments that can impact your financial well-being, and remain on your record. It is a common misconception that you don’t require an attorney for misdemeanors, but this couldn’t be further from the truth. An attorney can fight for your rights and ensure a misdemeanor charge won’t follow you around for the rest of your life. Call the Lucé Evans Law firm and hire an attorney who has your best interests in mind.
In Texas, some misdemeanors carry large punishments, including up to one year in jail. You need an experienced criminal defense attorney to help protect you from an unfair court system. There are three different types of misdemeanors in Texas: class A, class B, and class C, as described in Tex. Penal Code Ann. § 12.21.
Class A Misdemeanor: These offenses carry a punishment of up to one year in jail and/or a fine of up to $4,000.
Class B Misdemeanor: These offenses carry a punishment of up to 180 days in jail and/or a fine of up to $2,000.
Class C Misdemeanor: These offenses carry a punishment of a fine of up to $500 but do not carry any jail time.
If you are convicted of any of these misdemeanors, they remain on your criminal record. Protect yourself and call Lucé Evans Law as soon as possible.
Assert Your Rights
As with any criminal charges, you have the right to an attorney. Don’t talk to law enforcement without your attorney present. If you are arrested, inform the police officers you wish to speak with your attorney. They are required to cease communication with you until you have your attorney with you. While misdemeanors are less severe than felonies, they can still result in jail time and should be taken seriously.
If you have been charged with a misdemeanor, Contact the experienced criminal attorneys at the Lucé Evans Law firm today. Call 972-632-1300 to schedule your consultation.